More than meets the eye

So, I’ve just finished watching the first 2 episodes of the new transformers series. It took a long time, because I have sloooow internet. But my waste of time is your gain in knowledge… or at least my opinion.

So, is it any good? Decidedly yes. I would go so far as to say that this series is probably the best of the Transformers series ever. As much as I loved the original when I was a kid, I own it on DVD and it is a seriously bad show. This new series is well written, well acted and well animated. That’s a whole lotta well!

This new series seems to be a reboot of the franchise as opposed to falling into the over-crowded continuity of the previous animated series. This series is borrowing the best elements of all the previous transformers efforts and merging them into a pretty kick ass show.

I had my doubts when I saw the initial trailer. I was especially worried about the “kid” aspect, that is the little girl that seemed to be tagging along.  I was pleased to discover that she isn’t even a tenth as annoying or useless as Spike was in G1. That in and of itself is enough to let her off the hook. I really dig the designs too, very slick.

I am also pleased that they’ve found someone who does an incredible recreation of Starscream’s voice! It was a sad day for Voice acting when Chris Latta died. No one since has ever replicated that scratchy, shrill, whiney yet commanding voice that he used for both Starscream and Cobra Commander. Generally, those who try to emulate it sound ridiculous by comparison and do a disservice to themselves and the characters.

So yeah, new transformers=sweet.

~ by Pagz on January 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
