Star Trek Generations

No no, not that ass-tacular movie which kicked off the end of all things good and right with the franchise. I just felt like waxing on Trek for a bit.

When I was a kid, and really this is still the case today, I have always been space and sci-fi crazy. The future, or a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away that just happens to look like the future, that’s what I dug. Technology and space travel and adventure.  I was introduced to Star Wars before I had seen a single episode of sesame street.

That being said, I didn’t like Star Trek when I was a kid. Not for lack of trying mind you. There seemed to be no reason why I shouldn’t have liked the adventures of Kirk and the gang, they were in a spaceship after all, and they fought aliens and had wicked technology. Yet something about it just didn’t grip me as a child. I suspect it was the serious tone coupled with the shitty 60s special effects which couldn’t compare to Star Wars. This didn’t prevent me from having star trek toys though.

However, my disdain for Star Trek TOS didn’t extend to the movies (although the first film is a major league snore fest for me even unto this day). I was a big fan of the flicks. Wrath of Kahn especially. And then came Star Trek: The Next Generation, and I was lost to the realm of Trekkie-dom for the better part of a decade. I was slowly cured by DS9 and then later fully vaccinated by Voyager.

I still like Star Trek, but I’d no longer consider myself a “trekkie” or as the more belligerent and nerdish amongst their number would have it, a “trekker”.  Anyway, I’m straying from my intended topic. Yes, I do have a topic dammit, I’m not just fully ramblomatic over here.

In recent years I’ve come to appreciate the original series more than I did in my youth. There’s a certain camp value and charm to those episodes which I’m only now discovering. So, recently I picked up the HD-DVD set of Season 1 of the original series. The newly remastered versions with new special effects shots and such.  Since I’m sick I really have nothing better to do, so I’ve been watching them.

The new effects run the gamut of terribly impressive to exceedingly amateurish. It’s annoying because I really like the new work that’s been done, it’s just n issue of maintaining a certain standard of quality for all the shots. In some scenes they look great, in other scenes it feels like they’ve used lower res renders of the ships. Inconsistent. All in all though it’s my preferred way to watch the series now.

The other day Foley and I were discussing the Enterprise, and specifically which enterprise is the best. I’m all about the Enterprise D. To my mind starship deign on star trek reached its pinnacle with TNG and the D in particular. Amber is on the same wave length, gold star for Amber. Foley delights in being difficult, so he’s going with the Enterprise B, due to it not being well known or documented. It’s the mystery of the thing, although he does concede that from a purely aesthetic perspective, the D is the hands down winner of this contest.

My runner up would be the Enterprise NCC-1701 and 1701-A as they were depicted in the feature films. I was a big fan of that design. Third place goes to Future D from the final episode of TNG “all good things…” you know, the one with the third warp nacelle and the huge ass phaser cannon on the bottom of the saucer section. That thing was 31 different flavours of kick-ass.

~ by Pagz on January 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
