Glen Larson: Super Genius.

As most of you likely know, I am a big fan of ridiculously bad 70s and 80s sci-fi television and movies. Such being the case, the work of Glen A. Larson is of course right up my alley. Knight Rider, Battlestar Galactica, Buck Rogers in the 25th Century, it’s a list of shows clearly designed to hook my young mind. These shows form a load-bearing component of my childhood development. Not to the same degree as say Star Wars or Ghostbusters mind you, but still they were instrumental in the molding of my tastes and values. Shockingly, despite this, I would argue that I do in fact have pretty good taste, but I suppose that point could be debated.

So, with my recent acquisition of Buck Rogers on dvd, I decided to take a look back at the works Glen Larson and my feelings on them. Ready? Let’s go.

Battlestar Galactica.

This would be my first exposure to Larson’s work. As a hardcore Star Wars fan from birth essentially, there was no way that I wasn’t going to fall immediately in love with BSG. It was corny, it was hammy, but it had wicked spaceships and awesome robots. It was an exceptionally cheesy show. For all its cheesiness however, the show had a pretty great concept. So much so that it has recently been remade into a really incredible show. Way to go Glen!

Buck Rogers in the 25th Century

Wow. Just wow. One wouldn’t imagine that a show could be cheesier than BSG, but one would be wrong. I just picked up Buck the other day. I’ve not seen this series in years. I loved it when I was young, and why the hell not? It had Gil Gerard as Buck Rogers, equal parts Han Solo and Errol Flynn. It also starred Erin Gray as Wilma Deering, and if there was ever a woman aside from princess Leia whom I was destined to fall immediately and forever in love with, it’s Erin Gray. It featured amazing aliens and planets, awesome space fighters, and a hero who taught me the importance of treating people with respect and always doing the right thing.

Knight Rider

Larson’s greatest gift to humankind. Not only is Knight Rider possibly the most awesome show to ever grace a television screen, it also gave us DAVID HASSELHOFF. I shouldn’t have to say any more than that, but I will. A show about the worlds most amazing car, which also talks and fights crime? SOLD. It is my life’s mission to one day own the Knight Rider car. Not as impossible a dream as some might think. It’s gonna happen for me one day kids, it’s gonna happen.

Glen hasn’t done a lot of work recently, which is a shame. I understand though. People’s appetite for ridiculous feel good sci-fi fluff isn’t what it was back in the late 70s and early 80s. It’s a pity, as goofy as these shows were they were in the end very positive and up beat. I owe a lot of my moral development to these shows. Kids today should be so lucky.

~ by Pagz on January 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
