I’m just gonna run.

So, recently I’ve been playing Assassin’s Creed. It’s a game that seems to divide people, and I can understand that. On the one hand it is remarkably pretty and has some really cool controls and game mechanics. On the other hand it is full to bursting with overlong, redundant and entirely pointless sections where in you ride a horse form point A to point B for about 10 to 15 minutes. For some, this is enough to turn them off of the game. So far I’ve managed to stick with it.

The real fun of the game is the ability to roam your environment with crazy acrobatic free running skills, and also to assassinate anyone you wish at will without getting caught. My friend Gen came over the other day and I tried to demonstrate the latter. Unfortunately, I had the wrong weapon selected, so instead of quietly assassinating an unsuspecting guard, I whipped out my long sword and took a nice big hack at him, spraying blood on many passersby and alerting the other guards to my presence and murderous intent. That’s okay though, because that gave me the opportunity to demonstrate the other fun part of the game: Running terribly fast over rooftops and doing crazy acrobatic shit.

Ask any of my close friends what my video game philosophy is and they wil all repeat to you my video game mantra “I’m just gonna run.” It usually comes out when I’ve been attempting the same level for a while and my frustration has gotten the better of me. Fuck the level, fuck the goals, fuck the obstacles and the objectives; I’m just gonna run. And I do. Assassin’s Creed comes with an “I’m just gonna run” button. This is likely why I really love Assassin’s Creed, it crystallizes my approach to video games in its fundamental game mechanics.

I’m not much of a gamer really, so I don’t expect I’ll review very many games here. Fair enough, I’m sure most of you aren’t interested anyway. However, if you ever wish to know how I feel or will likely feel about a game, this guy is awesome and seems to feel the same way I do about most games.

Today I’ll leave you with a little bit of hilarity. First, a link to some terribly funny flash cartoons that Anthony introduced me to called TankMen. Brought to you by the good people at NewGrounds.

Lastly, a little bit of a favourite of mine. A short-lived series called Freakazoid! It was bizarre and weird. I hope it finds its way to DVD some day.

~ by Pagz on February 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
