The Simpsons

So, I’m sitting here watching the Simpsons while I’m waiting to go to work and it’s occurred to me that not only are there now more episodes of the Simpsons that I haven’t seen than I have, but also that there are more poor episodes of the Simpsons now than there are good episodes. That makes me sad. There was a time when my knowledge of the Simpsons was complete and encyclopedic. But then Season 8 came and the Simpsons began it’s rather abrupt and shocking slide into the low end of mediocrity.

The first 2 seasons of The Simpsons were okay, it was clearly a series with potential, but the writers had yet to find there groove. They discovered their groove in season 3, and seasons 4 through 7 are pretty much solid gold. Seasons 8 was where the first cracks appeared. Season 9 was pretty lame, and then it’s just been downhill from there. Not that there haven’t been some brilliant episodes, there have. The problem is that it used to be that every episode was brilliant, and a mediocre or poor episode was a rarity. Now it’s the reverse.

There are now 11 whole seasons of the Simpsons that i have either only seen a few episodes of, or haven’t seen at all. I have trouble even comprehending that. I am so far out of the Simpsons loop. It’s something I never thought could happen to me, but it has. To quote Grandpa Simpson “I used to be with it, but then they changed what “it” was. Now, what I’m with isn’t it, and what’s “it” seems weird and scary to me. It’ll happen to YOU!”

I liked the Simpsons movie, but honestly, I wish they could let the Simpsons go already and move on. Futurama was brilliant and got axed, yet the Simpsons is ass and still rolls on. Where’s justice?

~ by Pagz on February 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
