I am the father of all lies, and the uncle of all tricks.

A while back there was a cruel April fools prank where in a web video show devoted to upcoming Wii games claimed to have an inside scoop about the latest chapter in the Zelda series. In what I thought was a pretty wicked twist, this new installment was to take place in the Future of Hyrule. I was super excited. I’m a big fan of the Zelda series, so much so that my next tattoo will be a tri-force, but the games have covered a whole lot of the same ground.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m all for the swords and magic and such, but one of the hallmarks of the series is that they always take place at different points in Hyrule’s history. Yet it seems that Hyrule is to be perpetually locked in the age of swords and sorcery. I was stoked to finally see something new in the series. I thought there was a lot of potential in the notion of moving the series forward in time to the point of technological advancement.

I was born the day after April fools day. Damn you internet, why did you have to raise my hopes and then dash them?

~ by Pagz on February 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
