Metroid Madness

I’m a fan of video games. I’d hesitate to call myself a gamer, because I do not immerse myself in the hobby like some do. However, as far back as I can remember I’ve been fascinated by video games. I can recall being in a Chuck E. Cheese in some city, I don’t know which one, when Dragon’s Lair hit. It was mobbed by kids. I was 4 years old, and it was clearly beyond my scope, but I still looked on in awe as the older kids poured their quarters into that machine. Most of my time that evening was spent sitting in the cockpit version of Atari’s Star Wars arcade game, the greatest arcade game of all time. Don’t argue with me on this one, you’ll only test your own frustration. But I’m getting side tracked, how unlike me…

Perhaps tomorrow I’ll write about my history with video games, but tonight I want to talk about Metroid. Metroid ranks in my top 5 game series of all time. My favourite genre of gaming is side-scrolling platform/adventure. Mega Man, Mario, Bionic Commando, Sonic, they all fall into this genre. Metroid was awesome, and is definitely tied for the number one spot with Mega Man II for me. It’s probably my affinity for robots and robotic armour. It’s the same reason I love Iron Man.

Long have I dreamed of the day when I might own a Samus Aran toy of my very own. The hero of Metroid is possibly one of the most bad-ass looking characters of all time. Alas, toys of Samus are in short supply. And then I stumbled across this artist, a custom figure maker who has made 6 (yes, only 6) Samus Aran figures of quality surpassing my wildest dreams.

I recently vowed not to visit eBay for a whole month. This is killing me, because from what I understand the last of these 6 Samus figures is up for auction RIGHT FUCKING NOW! Almost certainly it’s beyond my price range, but still, one must be allowed to dream. I wish I could go look, but a promise is a promise. If anyone wants to fill me in on the details of the auction I’d be interested to know. To any millionaires reading my blog: My birthday is coming up on April 2nd, please feel free to get me this kingly gift!

To everyone else: My birthday is coming up on April 2nd, and the theme of my birthday party is as follows:

Be there or be equal lengths on all four sides.

~ by Pagz on March 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
