Happy Birthday Geoffrey! Let’s talk about Captain Power!

That’s right kids, it is my birthday. I am 29 years old today. Hard to believe, I still feel pretty much the same as I did when I was 20… or when I was 16 for that matter. I dunno when this “growing up” thing is supposed to happen, but I have a feeling that if I’m not an adult by now, I never will be. Phew, dodged that bullet.

Now then, when was the last time I talked to you about Captain Power? Really? It’s been that long? Well then, get a drink and make yourself comfy, because it’s time to get articley, nerdcore.

Captain Power hit in 1987 when I was the ripe old age of 8. The concept was pretty spifftacular, a sci-fi series aimed at kids that was “interactive”. The interactivity was provided by lighted panels in the show which flickered. When the viewer used specific toys from the accompanying toy line in front of the television, they could earn points for shooting bad guys, or take damage from the lasers the bad guys would shoot. Take too much damage, and your vehicle would eject your pilot.

Not terribly sophisticated, but it was unique. The really interesting part though was that, once you got past the goofy armour and name, the show was actually pretty intriguing. The story arcs and plots of the series were decidedly more adult oriented than a show of such beginnings had any right to expect. In fact, the show still has a rather loyal cult following today. Me, I loved the show, but I loved something else even more.

You see, there were videos. Training videos. Future Force Training videos. 3 of them to be exact. Unlike the series, these were animated. Not rinky dink animation like you’d expect, but some rather impressive anime. These videos were made specifically for use with the XT-7 jet fighter toy, and you were to watch the video and pretty much pretend you were flying it. It was loads of fun.

I owned Volumes 2 and 3, “Bio Dread Strike Mission” and “Raid on Volcania” respectively. Recently, I came into possession of the first in the series “Future Force Training”. While not quite as exciting as the 2nd and 3rd installments, it’s still pretty sweet.

Still, as much as I loved these videos, it was the series that brought me to them. 22 episodes of some really spiffy sci-fi that was really over my head at 8 years old. The series has yet to receive the DVD treatment that has been bestowed on so many lesser series, which is a shame, but hope springs eternal. Anyway, Captain Power. Cool show, goofy name. Talk amongst yourselves. Presents are welcome but not required.

~ by Pagz on April 2, 2008.

One Response to “Happy Birthday Geoffrey! Let’s talk about Captain Power!”

  1. Happy Birthday! Growing up is lame, don’t ever give in.

Leave a Reply

 
