Wax on, Wax off.

The Karate Kid is a damn fine movie. damn fine. I recently watched it again for the first time in well over a decade, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. This is a film which has stood the test of time. When revisiting the Karate Kid, I imagined that I’d enjoy it on a camp level, a piece of 80s nostalgia and nothing more.

Much to my surprise, this turned out to be a rather ageless film. In fact, if not for the clothes and some of the background music, there would be nothing to anchor this film in the 80s at all. One could easily make this movie today with the same script and nothing would change. It’s well acted, well structured and well written. I’ll bet most of you didn’t know Pat Morita was nominated for an Oscar for his role in The Karate Kid.

I think that The Karate Kid is even more relevant today than it was in 1984, what with the current awareness regarding bullying in our schools. Go rent The Karate Kid, it’s worth your time. And I challenge you not to hum “you’re the best” in the days to follow. Best… Montage… Ever!

~ by Pagz on April 4, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
