Bondsploitation

Some of you may recall that Jared and Myself (and often times Kim)… **Ladies and Gentlemen, it has been brought to my attention that I am 100% pants-on-head retarded. Kim has only missed 1 Bond night. So, to correct: Some of you may recall that Jared, Myself and Kim have been watching all of the Bond films in order. We’ve just made it to the Roger Moore era now. The Moore era is an interesting and unique period in the Bond saga. These films span the 70’s and early 80’s, and are a mirror for the filmic styles of the time. As such, Jared has developed a term to describe this unique amalgam of the styles of the day with the Bond aesthetic. Welcome my friends, to the era of Bondsploitation.

Watching the first 2 Moore films this past week it was really interesting to see how much Live and Let Die and The Man with the Golden Gun have in common with 70’s blaxploitation flicks. it’s not just blaxploitation flicks though, the 70’s were ripe with exploitation films, and the Bond films absorbed a lot of this style. The lighting, cinematography, fight choreography, music, makeup and hair, they all owe something to those films.

Live and Let Die is probably the purest example of this. Trust me, you haven’t lived until you’ve watched a Bond film with the following line: “I need a make on a white pimp-mobile!“. Genius. Roger Moore is an interesting Bond. He’s a much goofier Bond than Connery ever was. In my youth, Moore was Bond. I had no experience of Connery until my teenage years. For a Long time, Moore was it. Later, Timothy Dalton hit the scene, but for many years I was a Moore man. Today? I’m a Craig and Connery man. However, I still have a soft spot in my heart for Roger Moore.

I guess we always remember our first.

~ by Pagz on May 6, 2008.

4 Responses to “Bondsploitation”

  1. No bones about it, I really don’t like Roger Moore as Bond, but he’s sure fascinating and the Moore Bond films are thoroughly, captivatingly insane. I mean, for God’s sake, between The Man With The Golden Gun and A View to a Kill alone, he had four of the most bizarre choices for Bond villains – Christopher Lee, Herve Villechez, Grace Jones, and motherfucking Christopher Walken. Epic lunacy.

    Live and Let Die was in fact the first Bond movie I ever saw, and Baron Samedi is a wicked cool pseudo-bad guy who spends most of the movie just chilling out in graveyards playing his flute. I respect that.

  2. PS: We are a go for maximum Bondage tomorrow night as well, Kim is in. Meet at your place circa 4:30-ish?

  3. Okay, wtf dude?!?! “Oftentimes Kim”…I have been there for every single one other than the first one! Yeesh….

  4. I thought you missed the second one as well. My bad.

Leave a Reply

 
