A Dangerous Man to Know

The other day I took in my 5th viewing of Iron Man with my good friend Lee. Iron Man is still awesome, you should still go see it again. Lee had amazingly not seen it yet, and it’s always a pleasure for me enjoying someones initial viewing of something special. Honestly, next to watching a movie for the first time myself, my favourite thing about movies is witnessing or sharing that initial experience with someone else. Call me weird, I just dig it.

Why am I a dangerous man to know? It’s my criminal nature. I’m a bad boy. I’m no good for you baby. Once Iron Man was over, Lee and I just strolled in to Speed Racer. That’s right, unpaid theatre hoping. Does that turn you on baby? Yeah I know. Everyone loves a bad boy.

Speed Racer. Remarkably cheeseball, remarkably cartoonish, entirely entertaining. When I saw the first trailers for Speed Racer my initial thought was “Wow! That looks like 2 hours of eyeball rape.” and I was right on the money. But somehow it works. The garish colours, the CG environments, the seizure inducing racing, it’s so manically anime and so eye popping that it’s hard to hate it.

Don’t get me wrong. This is not a “good” movie. However, it’s not a good movie in the same way that the ’66 Batman movie isn’t a good movie. This movie is pure camp. This move is cheesecake, delicious, rich, occasionally overpowering cheesecake. If you’re looking for a work of high drama or action, this is not the movie for you. If you wanna see real people fighting each other with anime speed lines surrounding them, this is the place to be.

I’m looking forward to getting this one on blu-ray.

~ by Pagz on June 5, 2008.

3 Responses to “A Dangerous Man to Know”

  1. i’m totally the same way when watching movies with people, i think its some sort of complex.

  2. The ’66 Batman movie isn’t a good movie, it’s a fucking GREAT movie. Greater than you or I or anyone we will ever know.

    I’m now interested in seeing Speed Racer, which does indeed make you a dangerous, unabashedly evil man that I know.

  3. I wanna go to it with you, but pshaw on simple theatre hopping!
    We bust in there with AK’s and take that shit HOSTAGE.

Leave a Reply

 
