The dangers of public talent

It’s happened again. Every year when the holidays roll around I get this cold dread in my stomach, because more often than not, I know the request is coming. Anyone with a special or moderately unique talent knows this pain. There is always a never ending supply of people eager to call upon your “talent”. That’s fine usually, I don’t generally mind. This is an activity I don’t much enhjoy though, yet I find myself roped into it more often than I would like. And it just happened again, less than an hour ago.

I have been called upon to do a holiday painting on one of the windows here at work. Anytime I work someplace with a window I get this request (except at futureshop thankfully). I’ve done windows at the Bank, I’ve done windows at video stores. Everytime I think I’m out, they drag me back in. 

The thing I don’t enjoy about it is the cold and finding comfortable seating. By the end of the session my back will kill and I’ll be a human Popsicle. Oh well. If anyone has suggestions for my holiday painting, please leave them in the comments.

~ by Pagz on November 26, 2008.

3 Responses to “The dangers of public talent”

  1. It should probably involve Star Wars. And egg nog.

    And maybe I shouldn’t be allowed to make suggestions.

  2. Hmmm…clearly you need to Grinch it up my friend.

  3. When/where are you doing this? Would some company help? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
