Welcome to the Nerdocalypse

Do you want to know how much of a ridiculous geek I am? Well, I’m gonna tell you. I’m so much of a geek that I would just about lose my damn mind in order to own and proudly display…

The Fisher Price Sesame Street Playset!

sesamestreet11

sesamestreet21

sesamestreet31

I remember playing with that thing at preschool all the time. I had a few friends who were lucky enough to have this shining gem of childhood toys, always in various states of disrepair, torn stickers, missing figures or what have you. It was so cool, it closed up into a single unit with a handle on the top, when you opened it up it made the familiar street front, and on the other side you got Bert and Ernie’s apartment and other rooms, and a chalk board for some reason I never understood.

 Others may remember the similar Fisher Price Play Family Castle Playset which came with an awesome pink dragon and trap door in the tower.

castle

My heart was always playing on Sesame street though. I wanted to be best friends with Ernie so bad. I thought Ernie was cool. There was also a Playskool/CBS Toys version which was quite sweet too. It’s figures looked considerably more like their TV counterparts, but to me it wasn’t quite as cool as the Fisher Price version. Perhaps I’m odd.

I’m writing a blog post about Sesame Street Playsets. Of course I’m odd.

sesamest1

~ by Pagz on December 2, 2008.

2 Responses to “Welcome to the Nerdocalypse”

  1. I so had that first one!

  2. That Fisher Price Play Family Castle Playset was a memory buried so deep in my subconscious I was totally unaware of it. Thanks for that violently nostalgic kick in the head. ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
