A Special Presentation

It’s that time of year. Time for Christmas Specials. And nobody does them better than Rankin and Bass. The stop motion holiday specials they created are indelibly etched into my child hood. I was fascinated by the style of them and always caught up in the story. Something about them just really worked for me. Rankin/Bass had that knack for holiday specials which is sadly lacking in most modern offerings. In recent years the only new Christmas special I can think of which has made it’s way into my annual rotation is Olive! The other reindeer. I wonder what is that makes the Rankin/Bass specials so enduring. I wonder if it’s that same sensibility that prevents modern film makers and audiences from accepting the old musical comedy style of the 50s.

~ by Pagz on December 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
