Happy New Year, let’s talk about Ghostbusters.

Hey everyone, I’m back!

I know, I know, please try to contain yourselves. 2008 is officially gone and now it’s time for 2009, and what better way to get things rolling than by me revisitng my obsession for all things Ghostbusters? No seriously, I’m asking. Great, some help you are.

2009 is going to be a pretty big year for Ghostbusters fans. Not only is it the 25th anniversary of the first film, but it will also see the release of the new Ghostbusters video game, and likely the announcement of the long-rumoured-long-awaited Ghostbusters 3. Granted, Ghostbusters 3 will likely not be the crown jewel of cinematic endaevours it could be because they probably won’t be using my script, but still, I’ll take what I can get. Aditionally 2009 will see the BluRay release of Ghostbusters and Ghostbusters II and replica proton packs and ghost traps from the good people at Master Replicas. Could this be the best year ever? Pretty damn close I should say!

I’ve said it before, many times, but this year I’m building a replica Proton Pack for Halloween… For REALS. I always say I’m going to do it, and then I get super lazy and just let things slide until October when I decide I don’t have enough time now and I’m doing something else. Well, not again. This is the year my ghostbusting dreams get as close as they’ll ever come to being ghostbusting realities.  I’ve made a decision though. As fine a goal as accuracy is, I just don’t really care a lot if my Proton pack is not super movie accurate. I just want it to look cool. Such being the case I already have a number of shortcuts in mind that I think will provide me with some pretty decent results. Aww yeah.

I am still thoroughly enjoying my complete collection of The Real Ghostbusters on DVD and have been delighted to find that the show really ages very well. But I think the thing I’m most anticipating is the new video game. It just looks terrific, and watching the trailer… Hell I’d be happy if this was a  trailer for Ghostbusters 3, it’s that good.

Is that hot or what? And of course I’ll be getting it for the Wii as well, which will have it’s own unique gameplay and cartoony style (which my friend Dan had a bit of an influence on, how cool is that?)

I’ll want to be playing with one of these of course:

neutrona-gun-1neutrona-gun-2

A guy can dream, right?

~ by Pagz on January 3, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
