The ravages of old age.

There’s no denying it, I’m getting old. I can tell because I suck at Super Mario World now.

The other day Foley was over and we decided to kick some Super Mario World, the finest Mario game ever created. Formerly in the halcyon days of our golden youth it would be fair to say that Foley and I were Gods of Super Mario World. And like gods we strode confidently through its lush verdant lands with impunity. None of the various enemies that wandered the landscape troubled us in the least. They were minor nuisances and nothing more. Truly we were invincible juggernauts of this digital world, and where we strode our enemies were laid waste.

Everything is different now. Foley and I were thoroughly pwned by Super Mario World. The¬†formerly inviting plains of Super Mario World are now the stuff of dread, fear and most of all, frustration. Our keen abilities have disappeared and our enemies, once fearful and respectful of our awesome power, are now belligerent and deadly. They challenge us in open defiance of our Godly wills and more often than not they succeed! It’s an affront to the natural order.

I always assumed that my parents were crap at games because they didn’t have the practice, but I’m starting to wonder if it’s actually the ravages of age that rendered them useless. I was once a Mighty Digital God. Now I appaear to be waiting on my membership card to Team Retard.

~ by Pagz on January 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “The ravages of old age.”

  1. Hey, I still rocked that game’s ass, as you may recall. You ain’t that much older than me.

  2. We’ll talk when you’re 29 :p

Leave a Reply

 
