I am friends with Alex Bodman

I don’t know how many of you out there frequent internet forums. If you’ve been online for anywhere near as long as I’ve been, I’m sure you’ve encountered them in one form or another at some point during your virtual travels. I’m not much of a forum person myself. When I do use them I tend to frequent them for a span of about a month or so before my interest fades and I tired of the background radiation of petty bickering and highschool-esque drama that seems to be a mainstay of most every internet forum I’ve ever been to.  Truly internet forums are a mixed bag of interesting conversation, childish bickering and occasionally people with the deep-down galloping crazies.

Most forums have a similar story. The story of a poster and a post so mind numbingly stupid and insane that it goes down in the lore of that forum. Its members will discuss it years hence. It becomes legend, the kind of thing you would dismiss as a wild fabrication if it weren’t for the fact that you can actually go back through the archives and see them for yourself.  For my entire tenure on these internets I have never once be present at the birth of such a legend. I always come in afterwards and experience the hilarity second hand. Until today.

Today, much to my great delight, I was finally there for the birth of such a legend. Alas the moderator was right on op of things and put a stop to it before it could spiral into the territory of super-hilarity, but sill, funny stuff. You know how when you were a kid you’d pull the “Age” card on kids younger than you? Like “Well, I’m 9 years old and you’re only 6 so I know what I’m talking about”. That tactic usually dies out in the early teens when we realize exactly how juvenile and flawed the age argument is. Nothing makes you sound more juvenile and throws your whole point into doubt like saying “I’m older than you so I KNOW”. That argument is made especially funny when the person using it is 28 and the person they’re using it on is 22.

It’s locked now, but go check it out and have a giggle. The perpetrator is Stantz84 and he’s the special kind of crazy you usually only see in movies. Here’s the age argument, and here’s the prelude. Enjoy.

You might need to join the forum to see right now, I think there’s some maintenance going on, sorry kids.

~ by Pagz on January 18, 2009.

One Response to “I am friends with Alex Bodman”

  1. Hey Geoff,
    I’m shamlessly plugging some shiz at the moment. Make sure everyone listens to The Crashtones. EVERYONE.

Leave a Reply

 
