These are a few of my favourite things.

I know this will come as a shock to a great many of you, but I am a collector.

I’ll give you a moment to retrieve your collective jaws from the floor. Done? Good.

Yes, I love toys and comics and statues and all manner of geekery. And I have a lot of this stuff. There are, however, some pieces that I am unable to acquire. In all likelihood I’ll never own these things, but a man can dream. Anyway, I thought it would be fun to share. And so I present unto you:

My Holy Grails of Geekdom.

Boba Fett on Droids card

carded-fett-droidsThat’s sweet. I want that on my wall.

Die Cast Tie Bomber

tiebombThat’s just so cool. I’ve coveted this piece since I first read about it in my unauthorized guide to Star Wars and Star Trek Collectible back in 1992. I have one loose, with the package kind of wrecked, but someday I hope to own a pristine one.

Iron Man Legendary Bust

ironman1

iron man 2I’ve been coveting this guy for years. I’ve gotten close a couple of times too, but somehow I think it’s just not meant to be.

Iron Man Movie Bust

iron man 3While we’re talking Iron Man, this thing is Holy Shit Awesome!

The Amazing Spider-Man #1

AmazingSpider-Man001I’ve had a couple of opportunities to purchase beat up copies of this gem for around $500 bucks. Too rich for my blood, but what a glorious display piece it would make.

The USS FLAGG

flaggThis thing is legend. I would turn it into my coffee table.

Micro Collection Millennium Falcon

micro-falcon-frontI’m a huge fan of the old Star Wars Micro Collection, and to me this is the holy grail. I covet all Micro Collection goodies, but none more so than this.

Mindstyle V.I.N.Cent

vincentOnly 300 of this figure were produced. They’re already showing up on ebay for $200+ dollars. V.I.N.Cent is one of my all time favourite movie robots. As a child I was pretty much obsessed with him and Disney’s The Black Hole. My dad even made me a cardboard V.I.N.Cent to play with, it was awesome. I wish I still had it, good memories.

It’s entirely likely I will continue adding items to this list as I remember more of the unattainable oddities that I crave.

~ by Pagz on August 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “These are a few of my favourite things.”

  1. Funny you should post this now. I was at a store called Toy Traders today in Langley, and wondering how in the hell you managed to live in Vancouver for several years without discovering this place (or at the very least, you never dragged me there with you). It’s like an entire store just made for you. I’m pretty sure I saw that second Iron Man bust for sale there.

  2. Better add these Kubrick figures to your list, man:

Leave a Reply

 
