Clash of the Titans

Watched my Clash of the Titans bluray tonight at movie night. I’m not really sure the picture quality was significantly better than my dvd copy (my most treasured dvd) honestly. I think it has a lot to do with the film stocks used and the optical processing the film has to go through. It’s unlikely it’s ever going to look better than it does here.

Clash of the Titans is a strange movie. I love the movie. Always have, always will. That said, I don’t think I could be persuaded to call this a good movie. It’s kind of plodding, feels a lot longer than it is and it’s more than a little goofy but it clearly isn’t self aware of that fact.

One of the interesting things about the movie is that it actually doesn’t contain any Titans. Not a one. They name the Kraken and the gorgon Medusa as Titans, but as far as actual Greek mythology goes, neither of these creatures were Titans. And also there’s a robot owl named Bubo.

Bubo is awesome.

I couldn’t tell you exactly why I love this movie. Maybe it just reminds me of when I was little and accepted all of this stuff sincerely without questions. I kind of miss that feeling. The suspension of disbelief that came so naturally and without effort. The ability to just immerse myself in the reality of a movie and believe it totally.

I leave you with one of my favourite cartoons referencing Clash of the Titans. Yeah I want the bust of Bubo.

~ by Pagz on March 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
