There’s no accounting for the world.

Because you were curious Ted, here you go:

What I really wanted was to hear back from Pixar Canada. I sent them an application recently and was thinking that would make for an excellent birthday present. Alas, I’ve heard nothing from them as of yet. As for what I got for my birthday, so far I’ve only seen Jared as I’ve been very sick. Jared got me Leprechaun 1-3 and the BBC radio series of The Mighty Boosh. So far so good 🙂

My birthday itself was a bit of a mixed bag. Being sick didn’t help. Had to cancel birthday dinner which was a drag.

I was starting to feel a bit stir crazy yesterday so I decided to go to the movies to see Clash of the Titans. I opted for the 2D version as I had heard many reliable reports that the 3D conversion process they used to turn this into a 3D movie after it was made is total pants.

The movie is weak sauce. None of the charm of the original. Some will argue the original was lacking charm itself. I can’t defend against that. If you didn’t see it when you were a child I don’t imagine you’ll ever truly like the original.

The new movie is a cavalcade of facepalm moments and eye rolling dialogue. The special effects aren’t very impressive. I honestly was expecting a lot more from them. Once again there are no “Titans” in Clash of the Titans. Raiph Fiennes is laughable as Hades. I’ve seriously never seen a performance this bad from him, it was shocking. The Gods of Olympus were dull, the story was barely there, Perseus spends the whole movie talking about “I’m a man! I need to do this as a man! I can’t become like them, I’m a man! I’m a man! A man!” whine whine whine.

Bubo does make an appearance. Exactly as he was in the original movie no less. Alas, it’s a throw away gag for those of us that remember the original. I almost would rather they have not done it at all. treating Bubo with such disrespect. Bah.

Calibos is in the film, although I’ll be damned if I can think of a good reason why. The whole Andromeda plot line involving Calibos from the original movie was dropped, so Calibos has no real reason to be in this movie. He serves the role of Deus ex Machina. As does Pegasus. There’s a lot of that in the film. It’s total pants.

Final Verdict: Don’t bother seeing Clash of the Titans. Especially if you hold any fondness for the original.

By the end of the movie I was feeling totally exhausted, clearly I was not ready to be leaving my place yet. Today I’m feeling almost human again. I’m hoping to be back to 100% by Tuesday. Fingers crossed.

~ by Pagz on April 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “There’s no accounting for the world.”

  1. It’s difficult for me to keep up with the latest English slang living in a foreign country… When did “pants” become a derogatory adjective?

  2. I’m not sure, it’s been in use for a good 5 years or more.

Leave a Reply

 
