A Disturbance in the Force

Do you ever get that feeling in the pit of your stomach? That sick-making, stomach churning anxiety that something-terrible-has-happened feeling? You don’t know what it is, but something inside you is sure that things have gone wrong.

Well, I get that feeling. Not often, but it happens. What concerns me is not the feeling, because it’s happened to everyone at some time or another. I remember when I was younger and the feeling was much more frequent, most often the product of an over active imagination. These days though, like the past, say, 6 or 7 years, it seems that I only ever get this feeling when something has actually gone wrong.

So last night I was totally overwhelmed by this feeling. Suddenly the cold chills down my back, the goosebumps and hair standing on end, my stomach flip flopping and feeling like I’m gonna hurl. I have no idea what prompted it. I was just folding my laundry and watching Firefly, nothing unusual.

I couldn’t shake the feeling all night. Kept me up much later than I wanted to be, and woke me up much earlier than I intended to get up this morning too.

“So did anything happen?” you might ask. I have no idea. I certainly hope not. In the past couple of years every time this has happened, which is thankfully rarely, it has always denoted something rather personally devastating. As of yet everything seems totally normal. So here’s hoping this was just a false alarm. Fingers crossed.

~ by Pagz on April 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
