Tron Night: One Week Later

This time 7 days ago I was sitting by myself in the lineup for the Vancouver Tron Night at the Silvercity IMAX in Richmond. I had been there for several hours and would be waiting a few hours more to see 23 minutes of footage from Tron: Legacy. I was there because one of my best friends, Gabe, had managed to secure tickets to the screening before they were all gone.

Gabe and I have known each other since we were about 6 or so. He’s the closest thing I have to a brother. We waited in line together for 3 days to see Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace way back in 1999. I supplied him with transportation and shelter back when he would come to Vancouver from Victoria to visit his girlfriend Julie. We worked together at First Choice Logistics. He was my only room mate ever (not counting the fiancee of course) and I was a groomsman at his wedding. All summed up, we have a long history.

Tron and I have a long history too. When I was a child I loved Tron almost as much as I loved Star Wars. When I was 5 I was allowed to rent 1 movie a week. For a period of about 3 months I invariably chose Tron. Eventually my parents forbade me from picking Tron again and I had to move on to something else (I believe I chose Spider-Man: The Deadly Dust, several episodes of the 70’s live action Spider-Man series cobbled into a movie).

Growing up Tron stuck with me though. I was forever fascinated with light cycles and throwing discs and the virtual world. I can remember devising elaborate ways in which to recreate the light cycle sequence on stage at my elementary school in the hopes of being able to do Tron as a school play. I had an active imagination, what can I say?

Sitting in line for Tron night was a pretty nostalgic thing for me, taking me back to not only my love of Tron but also the good old days when Gabe and I would do stupid things like camp outside a theatre for 3 days to see a movie.

Tron: Legacy was genius. I am even more excited for the movie now having seen parts of it in full than I was previously when I only had trailers. I could easily go in to detailed descriptions, but that would just be nerd service. Others have posted that information elsewhere. All I’m going to say is that it rocked me to the core and I can not wait to see the full film.

There was one other reason I was in town though and strangely enough, I was even more excited for this than I was for Tron. You see, on September 26th, 2010 at 7:09pm Gabe became a daddy, Julie became a mommy, and I became an “Uncle”. Noah Gabriel Henri Gat was 32 days old and I was super excited to meet him.

Gabe had been kind enough to offer to let me stay with his family that night, which was great. I got to visit with Gabe and Julie, which I rarely get to do these days much to my great sadness. More importantly though, I got to see Noah. Noah is probably the best thing ever. He is aggressively adorable. I was smitten the moment I laid eyes on the little guy. Dad already knows what I’m getting Noah for Christmas. Mom, I’ll just tell you I’m sorry right now, I hope we can still be friends.

Alas, we only got a brief time together, the next day was a day of appointments for the family and I also had things to do back on the rock before the Halloween party. Still, it was a great night, a great morning, and I’m looking forward to going to visit again very soon.

Here’s a few pictures:

~ by Pagz on November 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
