I’m your Huckleberry

Watched Tombstone this evening. I love Westerns. They’re so great. This is one of my favourites. It follows Wyatt Earp from his arrival at tombstone, through the OK Corral incident and ends with his posses breaking up the cowboys. Good good stuff. Val Kilmer is especially brilliant as Doc Holliday, In fact, I would say that its Kilmer’s best performance ever.

Around the same time another movie about Wyatt Earp was released, titled imaginatively enough Wyatt Earp. This was an exceedingly dull chronicling of Earp’s life by one time cinema auteur Kevin Costner. It got me thinking, what is it with Kevin Costner and terrible epic movies? It seems to be his major stock in trade: Dances with Wolves, Waterworld, Wyatt Earp, The Postman, why does he make them?

Actually, that’s all I’ve got. I’ve decided I don’t care to spend any more time or effort writing about Kevin Costner and his inability to steer clear of making terrible epic movies.

~ by Pagz on November 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “I’m your Huckleberry”

  1. I love Tombstone! It’s practically the only Western I do like. It’s a great film, my intense love of Val Kilmer notwithstanding.

  2. Val Kilmer as Bruce Wayne, come on… best role evar! 😛

Leave a Reply

 
