A strange project

I was listening to the Soundtrack albums to Ghostbusters and Ghostbusters 2 in my car recently. The first album is highly superior to the second, but they’re both clearly 80s soundtrack albums. Do you remember the 80s? Back when all movies had montages set to pop music. Back when soundtracks were full of songs that were either directly about what was happening in the film, or else at least something pertaining to the film?

These days soundtracks are filled with songs “inspired by” the movies they’re for, but I’d be hard pressed to tell you in what way most of these songs have been inspired by the films on whose albums they’ve wound up. Many of these songs that are supposedly “inspired” by the film were actually written long before the film was finished. Hmmm, that’s weird isn’t it.

So here’s my idea. Knowing what a ridiculous ghosthead I am I’m sure this won’t seem to come too far out of left field. I’m going to put together an 80s style soundtrack album for Ghostbusters 3. A move that has not been made. A movie about whose plot I know absolutely nothing about. I figure I can’t do any worse than those songs supposedly inspired by films that were made well after the songs were written. If retroactive inspiration is kosher than I suppose this is too.

Here’s the problem though. I’m just not much of a music fan. I don’t listen to a lot of music, current or otherwise. So I’m going to be leaning on all of you, my faithful reader(s). Here’s what I’m looking for:

1) Rock songs with supernatural inspiration

2)  Songs that have what you consider to be a supernatural sound

3) Songs that embody both of the above WITHOUT being emo, screamo, or any of the other bastard offshoots of that scene.

Post your suggestions here in the comments. When I’ve pulled together an album I’ll post the playlist on the blog for you all.

~ by Pagz on November 6, 2010.

2 Responses to “A strange project”

  1. Daughtry actually has a song called “Supernatural” on their second album, Leave This Town… It’s a terrible song by their standards, but even bad Daughtry is better than anything else you’re likely to hear on the radio…

  2. Ghostbusters by Ray Parker. I think it would be perfect! Either that or “I kissed a Girl” – katy perry. Both incited by Ghostbusting.

Leave a Reply

 
