T’is the season apparently

Halloween has past, which means it’s Xmas time now. Or so every single store in the city would have you believe. That’s okay though, because next to Halloween, Xmas is my favourite holiday of the year. Every year on my blog I use Xmas as an opportunity to post some really amazingly awesome nerd stuff in the guise of an Xmas list. Usually I go  out of my way to find really extravagant items because I don’t actually want people getting me these things, I just want to share my enthusiasm for them with others. This year I’m going to take a different approach.

This year, along with my usual parade of extravagant geekish goods I will also be including a “real” xmas list. That is to say, I’m going to include items that are reasonably priced and easy to get. Every year people complain to me that I’m hard to shop for. I don’t understand that myself, but I suppose it’s time I actually shared with you items I actually would like to get that are at least reasonable. So no more saying I’m hard to shop for 😉

Let’s kick things off with something I stumbled across on ebay. It turns out that animation cells from The Real Ghostbusters are really cheap and readily available on ebay. How cool is that? I’d love to start a collection of these little gems, maybe frame some of the best ones to hang on my walls. Check it out:

Here’s a great one going for $5.99! If you want to get me something truly unique and affordable, I doubt you can find a better deal than this. Real Ghostbusters Animation Cels on eBay.

Last Xmas I got one of the best presents ever from my then girlfriend Kayla. She got me a sealed copy of the classic Ghostbusters Role Playing Game! It’s awesome. I can’t wait to get into it. I have it in mind to get together some miniatures to mod into ghostbusters rpg figs to make the game more fun. To that end I would loooove it if someone got me this!

This guy is at the upper end of the price range I’d even consider posting. As such, take this with a grain of salt. If you’re feeling extra generous towards me come Xmas time, this isn’t a bad way to go 😉

As many of you are aware, I love to build replica props and such. The thing about that is, materials. So if you’re looking for a very simple and cheap, how about some foam core!

It’s cheap, you can get it pretty much anywhere and it’s wicked useful for building props.

Speaking of props, if you have any spare bits of whatever that look interesting, feel free to collect that stuff in a box and put a bow on it! I’m always looking for neat little bits and pieces I can paint and glue on to my props to give them that extra dimension of realism.

Not bad. I think that’ll do for today. More to come as we approach Xmas gang!

~ by Pagz on November 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
