The Reformation

The holidays have been super hectic for me and I’m afraid once again I fell off the wagon in terms of posting. That will be rectified shortly. In fact, this time off has given me opportunity to consider exactly what I want to do with my blogging.

Most of you are aware that I’ve embarked on a lot of reviews on my blog. I’m certain you all fondly remember my epic work on Episode I: The Phantom Menace. Or perhaps my treatises on The Last Airbender. And of course you are all familiar with my Real Ghostbusters project. I’ve decided that my reviews need a home of their own. As such I will be creating a new blog specifically for my reviews. I haven’t come up with a good name for it yet. Feel free to leave me suggestions in the comments.

I will also be restarting my fitness blog Chunkee Monkee. It was a failed effort to do a daily diary of my eating and exercise. This time around it won’t be quite so structured. There’ll probably be things like recipes or interesting nutritional information I come across, in addition to updates on my own efforts. I might possibly be working with a personal trainer in the coming months, so those efforts could get chronicled there.

Geoffrey Today! will remain my main blog where I’ll be writing articles of geekish interest. My personal take on video games, comics, television, the movie industry, toys, gadgets and pretty much anything else that might catch my interest. Forget my yearly Xmas list, geek-goods of all varieties will be discussed and drooled over all year long now!

I’m toying with the notion of creating a blog specifically for my Ghostbusters fandom which continues to grow unabated. What do you all think?

Finally, I’m going to be whoring out my blogs pretty heavily on my facebook and pretty much everywhere else I frequent on these internets. I would be very grateful to all of you if you’d be so kind as to pass on links when you feel so inclined. Tell your friends, use the like buttons to share entries on facebook and twitter or your social network of choice. The goal is to generate enough traffic that I might be able to get some ads running or perhaps find some work writing for websites or magazines.

So, that’s the state of the union as it were. Suggestions, comments, admiration, monetary compensation, confessions of undying love or propositions of an adult nature can be made in the comments below :p

~ by Pagz on December 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Reformation”

  1. I think splintering your readership over three or four separate blogs is a bad idea… and guarantees significantly fewer updates to any one of those blogs. Better to keep this as one regularly-updated blog, rather than multiple infrequently-updated blogs.

    Plus, given your recent absence, I fear you might be trying to bite off more than you can chew… @_@

  2. I agree with Ted on this one – I think it could be better to focus your energies on just one blog (maybe two max), for now anyways. It will be less overwhelming than trying to keep up with four different things. Keep it simple, use the magnetism of your writing and personality to build a brand for yourself, and whatever you happen to be writing about will be made interesting by your honesty and personality. Once you have a solid following, then maybe look at branching out more. Don’t dilute “Brand Geoffrey” too much right away. My thoughts anyways!

    Here is a blog I really like that I think is a great example of what I’m talking about:

    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/

    She started off very humbly, but because she was honest and funny and made a real effort to connect with her readers using her one blog (using Facebook and Twitter to cross-market) her readership grew organically and she is now a huge internet sensation. I also like that she uses illustrations to tell her story.

Leave a Reply

 
