Continuing to cope

Back in September of 2010 I was diagnosed with clinical depression and panic and anxiety disorder. Since then I’ve been working with my doctor and counselors to find the right combination of medication and lifestyle adjustments in order to be able to function properly in the real world. It’s an uphill battle.

As of yet we haven’t found any medications that do anything for me, aside from giving me heartburn or making me very tired. My anxiety has lessened a bit, but I attribute this solely to not working. As my EI nears its end and with no actual solution to or even improvement of my condition in sight, my anxiety is climbing up again.

Right now it just seems so insurmountable that it’s hard to muster the motivation to try. I had wanted to spend this time away from work really dealing with my issues and health and getting things sorted out. And I’ve been trying to do just that, but the progress is so slow it’s painful. It’s just very daunting and disheartening at the moment.

Just so this post isn’t entirely down: I love you Santa Clause.

~ by Pagz on January 22, 2011.

3 Responses to “Continuing to cope”

  1. Congrats on having the balls to talk about depression. Definitely not the easiest thing to do. Keep at it, kid.

  2. Hi Geoff, I feel for you, what you are going through. I went through that in high-school. If you are serious about being pro-active about recovery, take some time to go through this website. It treats the root causes of all inflammatory disease (and yes, depression/anxiety fit that bill) getting to the heart of the matter like no anti-depressant/anxiety med ever could. I think if you could find something that you really believe will work, even though it may be hard, you will be able to get through, and come out on the other side. The science behind it is all there to read. I did this treatment, and I’ve never been better. Just thought I’d pass it on.

    http://mpkb.org/home/diseases

  3. Can I ask what medications you’ve taken/are on?

Leave a Reply

 
