My birthday is coming up bitches!

Yes, the rumours are true. My birthday is fast approaching. On April 2nd, 2011 I will be 32 years old.* I know what you’re thinking: “How shall we celebrate this monumental occasion Geoff? With what variety of majestic gifts should we shower thee?” Well as it so happens, I have the answers for you kids!

This year, as last year, my best friend Melissa and I are sharing a birthday party. Since our Birthday’s fall almost exactly 1 month apart we split the difference and throw a joint party in the middle of April. This year’s theme: Star Wars Gender Bender Party! The lovely Melissa will be sporting the look of a dashing Corellian smuggler, while yours truly will be looking totally smokin’ hawt in my Slave Leia Gold Bikini.

Set your faces to stunned. (I know, it’s a Star Trek joke, sue me.) There’s going to be a lot of Star Wars themed goodies, a good time is guaranteed to all.**

So that takes care of the festivities, “but what about tribute?” you say? Well, I think I can help you out on that. Start investing in lottery tickets because I’m about to get way selfish!

IRON MAN!

I love Revoltech figures somethin’ fierce. I have a Revoltech Megatron and a Revoltech Patlabor. I need MORE Revoltech. If Revoltech would be so kind as to just take over the world of small scale action figures I’d be forever grateful.

G.I. JOE RESOLUTE FIGURES!

G.I. Joe Resolute is the best thing that’s happened to G.I. Joe since it was turned into a kick ass animated series and toy line back in the early 80’s!

SPACE BATTLESHIP YAMATO!

This is one of my top 5 favourite spaceships of all time! (Hmmm, I sense a blog post in there) The series was called Space Battleship Yamato in Japan, but here in North America it was know as STARBLAZERS! and possessed one of the most ridiculous and infuriatingly catchy theme songs of all time. It’s also interesting in that it was one of the first, if not THE first animated series that featured an ongoing plot that carried through each season. I’m not sure if that’s in North America or in Japan as well. Either way it had an irrevocable impact on the way animated series were written and produced. Be Forever Yamato!

COLONIAL VIPER MK II!

Another entry on my top 5 list of my favourite spaceships of all time!

MODELING SUPPLIES!

Modeling supplies and paints. Cheapish individually, expensive when you need a bunch :\

 

 

 

iPad

The iPad is neat and I’m a gadget whore. Sue me :p

* not “years young” which is a stupid expression and is not to be employed in my presence or when speaking of my age.
** Not an actual guarantee.
~ by Pagz on February 24, 2011.

4 Responses to “My birthday is coming up bitches!”

  1. I wish my birthdays were fun. They’re always on a long weekend and always turn out to be a total bummer and I end up sad. This looks very fun and not sad at all!

  2. I know nothing of “G.I. Joe Resolute,” but (other than the iPad) I have everything else on your birthday list… in fact, I just got the Revoltech Iron Man today!

    Is that weird, or am I just a toy whore?

  3. G.I. Joe resolute is the way you remember G.I. Joe being when you were a kid, bad ass and totally awesome. It’s everything the G.I. Joe movie should have been and wasn’t. Seek it out.

    I wouldn’t call it weird, if I were able to I’d own all those things too 😉

    I’ve run into a little snag on my Episode I edit. After listening to the terrible Jar Jar voice actors of the Italian, Spanish, Hindi and French dubs, I decided to go with the Japanese dub. Firstly because I find the Japanese voice less annoying than all those others and the English, and secondly because in my edit the Neimoidians once ruled the planet and exploited the Gungans as slave labour, so they still speak a version of the Neimoidian language.

    Alas, that wicked dvd you made me with the japanese audio track was made back when I only needed the Neimoidians, not Jar Jar, so there are some missing areas of dialogue. I don’t suppose you could rip me a new soundfile disc with the audio track for the whole movie? or barring that could find a cheap used copy of the Japanese DVD you could send to me so I can rip it myself?

  4. I’ve ripped the DVD and made a 700MB .m4v file with Handbrake, which includes the 6-channel AC3 Japanese audio and a VERY low-resolution video image for editing reference. I can’t upload video files to wordpress, however…

    What upload limits exist with Facebook?
    Or gmail, for that matter?

Leave a Reply

 
